Dates and deadlines 2016/2017

July 2016
August 2016
September 2016
October 2016
November 2016
December 2016
January 2017

July 2016

Friday, July 1
Canada Day. University closed.

Sunday, July 3
Last day to withdraw for 100% refund for 6 week courses that begin the week of Monday, July 4. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m., Sunday, July 4.

Monday, July 4
Start of 6 week courses that begin the week of July 4.

Office of the Registrar open from 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Monday, July 4 to Friday, July 8
2016 late registration for 6 week courses that begin the week of July 4. Late fee will apply for new registrants. Registration closes at 11:59 p.m. on day of first class.

Monday, July 4 to Sunday, July 10
Withdraw period for 70% refund for 6 week courses that begin Monday, July 4. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m., Sunday, July 10.

Tuesday, July 5
Office of the Registrar open from 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Sunday, July 10
Last day to withdraw for 70% refund for 6 week courses that began the week of Monday, July 4. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m.

Monday, July 11
Deadline for grade changes, including incomplete grades for 6 week courses that began the week of May 16.

Monday, July 11 to Sunday, July 17

Withdraw period for 50% refund for 6 week courses that began the week of Monday, July 4. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m., Sunday, July 17.

Friday, July 15
Last day to submit an Intent to Graduate form to the Office of the Registrar for Fall 2016 Graduation without a late fee.

Deadline to submit Letter of Permission requests to study at another accredited post-secondary institution for 2016 fall term. 

Sunday, July 17
Last day to withdraw for 50% refund for 6 week courses that began the week of Monday, July 4. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m.

Monday, July 18
Last day to submit grade appeals for 3 week courses that began the week of June 6.

Monday, July 18 to Friday, July 24

Late registration period for graduate studies courses that begin the week of July 25.

Monday, July 18 to Sunday, July 31
Withdraw period for no refund for 6 week courses that began the week of Monday, July 4. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m., Sunday, July 31.

Sunday, July 24
Last day to withdraw for no refund for 12 week courses that began the week of May 16. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m.

Monday, July 25
Last day to submit grade appeals for 6 week courses that began the week of May 16.

Sunday, July 31
Last day to withdraw for no refund for 6 week courses that began the week of July 4. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m.


August 2016

Monday, August 1
Civic holiday. University closed.

Friday, August 5
Deadline to submit Field Placements or Independent Study registration and proposal forms for 2016 fall term.

Monday, August 8
First day for student feedback on courses for graduate studies courses beginning July 25 and ending August 15.

First day for student feedback on courses for undergraduate courses beginning May 17 and ending August 15, and beginning July 4 and ending August 15.

Friday, August 12
Last day for student feedback on courses for graduate studies courses beginning July 25 and ending August 15. 

Last day for student feedback on courses for undergraduate courses beginning May 17 and ending August 15, and beginning July 4 and ending August 15.

Tuesday, August 16 to Thursday, August 18
Critique (August 16 and August 17) and examination (August 18) period for 6 week courses that began the week of July 4, and 12 week courses that began May 17.

September 2016


Friday, September 2
Deadline for grade changes, including incomplete grades for 6 week courses that began the week of July 4, and 12 week courses that began May 17.

Monday, September 5
Labour Day. University closed.

Wednesday, September 7
First day of 2016 fall term classes. 

Office of the Registrar open from 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Wednesday, September 7 to Tuesday, September 13
Late registration begins for new registrants for 2016 fall term courses, with a late registration fee. 

Students who register for their first course(s) on September 7 or later, must pay a $70 late registration fee.

Thursday, September 8
Office of the Registrar open from 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. 

Tuesday, September 13
Last day for fall term late course registration. Registration closes for fall term. Last day to drop fall term courses with 100% refund.

Wednesday, September 14
Deadline for payment of 2016/2017 fall term tuition. Fees due by 4 p.m. for in-person payments at the Cashier’s office. Students who have not paid their fees in full or provided proof of sponsorship to the Senior Student Accounts Clerk by this deadline will incur interest charges on outstanding balances.

Friday, September 16
Last day to submit grade appeals for 6 week courses that began the week of July 4, and 12 week courses that began the week of May 16. 

Tuesday, September 20
Last day to withdraw from fall term courses for 70% refund. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m. 

Tuesday, September 27
Last day to withdraw from fall term courses for 60% refund. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m.

October 2016

Tuesday, October 4
Last day to withdraw from fall term courses for 50% refund. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m.

Monday, October 10
Thanksgiving. University closed. 

Monday, October 10 to Friday, October 14
Study week. No classes scheduled. 

Tuesday, October 18
Last day to withdraw from fall term courses for 40% refund. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m.

November 2016

Friday, November 4
Deadline to submit an Application for Reinstatement for summer 2017. 

Deadline to submit Letter of Permission requests to study at another accredited post-secondary institution for 2017 winter term credit. 

Deadline to submit applications for Alumni Degree Completion for studies beginning summer 2017. 

Deadline to submit Independent Study and Field Placement application and proposal forms for 2017 winter term credit. 

Tuesday, November 15
Last day to withdraw from fall term courses, no refund. Withdraw before 11:59 p.m. 

End of fall term withdrawal period.

December 2016

Thursday, December 1
Deadline to submit Faculty of Art - Material Art & Design Program request. 

Tuesday, December 6
Last day of fall term classes. 

Wednesday, December 7
Flex/Study day. 

Thursday, December 8 to Saturday, December 10 and Monday, December 12
Final examination period. Student attendance is required. 

Thursday, December 10
Student feedback on courses survey period closes. 

Monday, December 13 to Friday, December 16 and Monday, December 19
Critique period for fall term classes. Student attendance is required. 

Friday, December 16
Last day to register for winter term courses without paying a late registration fee. Students who register for courses after Friday, December 16 must pay a $70 late registration fee. 

2017 winter term course registration closes at 11:59 p.m. and will re-open on Wednesday, January 4, 2017 at 9 a.m. 

Monday, December 19
End of 2016 fall term. 

Monday, December 26, 2016 to Tuesday, January 3, 2017 (inclusive)
Winter Holiday Closure.


January 2017

Wednesday, January 4, 2017 
2017 winter term course registration re-opens at 9 a.m.