Research Services

Research Office

The Research Office supports the growth and expansion of funded research and scholarly activity at OCAD University. Our goal is to assist researchers in accessing the necessary resources to conduct excellent research that will earn faculty high recognition in their fields. The office provides support for applying for and administering research funds, including:

  • internal seed funding;
  • finding external funding opportunities;
  • grant facilitation;
  • research ethics compliance;
  • institutional liaison for major funding agencies;
  • contract review;
  • building a research team;
  • locating equipment and space resources;
  • reporting.

Contacts

Name

Title

Contact

Responsibilities

Greg Singer, PhD Director, Research Services gsinger@ocadu.ca
Ext. 474
award facilitation (pre- and post-award)
Christine Pineda Manager, Special Projects  

cpineda@ocadu.ca
Ext. 4368

 

research ethics board support, research communications, graduate faculty supervision payments

Melissa Golberg Research Grants & Contracts Officer mgolberg@ocadu.ca
Ext. 447 
 
Dr. Helmut Reichenbächer Associate
Vice-President, Research and
Dean, Graduate Studies
hreichenbacher@ocadu.ca
Ext. 464
Anne Ahrens-Embleton

Assistant to the Associate Vice-President, Research and Dean, Graduate Studies

 

aahrensembleton@ocadu.ca
Ext. 417

 

scheduling, support to the AVP

Karen Kwon Research Office Support kkwon@ocadu.ca

Katherine Roos
Executive Director, Imagination Catalyst kroos@ocadu.ca
Ext. 4589
activities within the Imagination Catalyst, venture partnerships, incubation, market readiness
Kathryn Ellis Community & Events Coordinator, Imagination Catalyst kellis@ocadu.ca
Ext. 4364 
 

Mailing address

Office of Research & Graduate Studies
OCAD University
100 McCaul St.
Toronto, Ontario
M5T 1W1

Finance Office

The Finance Office provides additional support to researchers in the management of their research funds by:

  • administering and accounting for research funds received by the University;
  • setting up cost centres and accounts for research projects;
  • ensuring that expenditures are eligible and adhere to the funding agency guidelines and internal institutional policies;
  • preparing and submitting financial reports to sponsors;
  • coordinating research-related audits.

Contacts

Name

Title

Contact

Responsibilities

Charlene James Research and Financial Reporting Accountant cjames@ocadu.ca
Ext. 320
budget and account set-up, budget revisions, research financial reporting
Ajay Joshi Research Accountant ajoshi@ocadu.ca
Ext. 4580
expense eligibility review, expense reimbursements, cheque requisitions, invoices, purchasing card reconciliations
Ana Pineiro Senior Procurement Officer apineiro@ocadu.ca
Ext. 221
oversight of the purchase of goods and services for the University including purchase orders,purchasing cards andcompetitive bids, maintaining supplier relationships