Joint Health and Safety Committee

The Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) is an advisory body comprising representatives from all aspects of OCAD University's work force. It is responsible for stimulating awareness of safety issues, recognizing workplace risks and recommending solutions to address these risks. The JHSC exists to safeguard the health and safety of all of the university community by assisting the university in hazard identification and assessment, and then making recommendations for controlling these hazards. This is achieved by:

  • assisting the university in efforts to promote safety awareness and safe work practices among employees and students as well;
  • working in cooperation with management to identify unsafe work practices; and
  • monitoring conformance with health and safety policies.

JHSC meeting agenda and minutes can be found in the Health and Safety bulletin board at 100 McCaul St.

JHSC Monthly Meeting Minutes

Minutes of each meeting are recorded and available for review by OCAD University and a Ministry of Labour inspector [subsection 9(22)].  They are also located on the Safety & Risk Management board at 100 McCaul.  

The JHSC minutes contain details of all matters discussed, as well as a full description of issues raised, any action recommended by the committee members and the employer response to the recommendation(s). 

JHSC Inspections

Regular inspections of the workplace by the designated worker member of the joint health and safety committee help to identify hazards and thereby prevent or mitigate workplace injuries. The workplace must be inspected at least once a year and ensure that at least part of the workplace is inspected each month [subsection 9(27)] in accordance with a schedule established by the committee [subsection 9(28)]

To accomplish this, the University is broken down into inspection zones that will be completed by the designated JHSC member.

Inspection Zones

Zones 1 to 12-1 (PDF)


Employer representatives

Nick Hooper (Co-Chair, Studio Management) Ext. 2202
Connie Arezes-Reis (Human Resources) Ext. 209
Christine Wallace (Building Projects) Ext. 620

Worker representatives

OCADFA faculty/technicians: 

Eric Steenbergen (Co-Chair, Printmaking) Ext. 268
Ted Hunter (Wood) Ext. 313
Katrina Tompkins (ED/ID) Ext. 397 

OPSEU Local 576:

Alvaro Araya (IT Services) Ext. 240
Myly Pham (IT Services) Ext. 3846
Adam Wilkinson (Distribution Services) Ext. 612

bio hira mavi su enginar macunu isveç şurubu diyeti spin mop tablet eskina baligi tasi epimedyumlu macun gümüş suyu dr piton no white hair glucogen borev bulaşık makinesi deterjanı