OCAD U Teaching Excellence Awards

OCAD University's Teaching Excellence Awards recognize outstanding faculty and teaching assistants who inspire student learning, creativity and help students to make connections between the academic, personal and professional realms. The following diagram represents the teaching award structure at OCAD University.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can submit a nomination?

All members of the OCAD U community are welcome to submit nominations or letters of support for a faculty member or TA for a Teaching Excellence award.  

Where can I find more information about each award?

Information on OCAD University's Teaching Awards can be found by clicking below:

  1. Price and Non-Tenured Teaching Awards
  2. The BLG Faculty Equity Award
  3. Faculty Teaching Awards
  4. The Inspired Teaching Awards

How are award recipients recognized?

Winners receive a certificate of recognition and are publicly acknowledged at OCAD University's annual Celebration of Faculty event, which is traditionally held in April.

Is there a list of previous winners?

The comprehensive list of all of OCAD U's Teaching Excellence Award recipients, including the Price Award, the Non-Tenured Award, the Faculty Teaching Awards, the Inspired Teaching Awards and the BLG Faculty Equity award, can be found here (updated June 14, 2018).

Call for Additional Support for 2018 Nominees

The call for additional materials from the OCAD U campus community is now closed. Thank you to all of the individuals who contributed to our nominees' packages.


  • January: The nominations received between late November and early December are used to create a shortlist (where necessary) for consideration of multiple awards by different award selection committees. 
  • February: (Shortlisted) Nominees are contacted and invited to submit an awards package to support their nomination. Workshops and individual consultations are available through the FCDC to support nominees.
  • March/April: Award selection committees review the nominees' awards packages and identify a recipient for 2018. In some cases, the selection committee may elect to acknowledge two recipients.
  • April/May: All nominees are invited to attend the Celebration of Faculty event hosted by the VPAP where the recipients of the 2018 Teaching Excellence Awards are announced.

Nomination Eligibility and Information

  • All faculty members and TAs who taught in Spring 2017, Summer 2017 and Fall 2017 were eligible for nomination
  • Nominations were encouraged to provide as much specific detail as possible
  • Nominators were also welcome to attach an (optional) letter of support of 1-2 pages to support their nominee