Skip to main content

Your Browser is out of date and is not supported by this website.
Please upgrade to Firefox, Chrome, Internet Explorer 11, or Microsoft Edge.

Nominations now open for honorary doctorate degrees

An image of Jeanne Beker (left) and David Cronenberg (right) receiving honorary degrees.

Image: Jeanne Beker and David Cronenberg receiving honorary degrees.

What do TV personality Jeanne Beker, author Margaret Atwood, filmmaker David Cronenberg, artist Kent Monkman and singer-songwriter Buffy Sainte-Marie have in common? 

They are all recipients of honorary degrees from OCAD University, presented to outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to the fields of art, design, culture, education and to the ideals of OCAD U.

OCAD University is now accepting nominations for 2022 honorary degree recipients, which will be presented at Convocation in June 2022.

Faculty, staff, students and alumni are invited to submit the names of those individuals who are deserving of this high honour by 5 p.m., Friday, January 28, 2022.

In June 2021, OCAD U presented honorary degrees to five exceptional individuals who have made major impacts to Indigenous and contemporary art in Canada, and to the fields of literature, entertainment, arts administration and advocacy. Last year's recipients included Shary Boyle, Ruth Cuthand, Nalo Hopkinson, Ellis Jacob and Zainub Verjee.

Nominations may be made through the online nomination form. For more information, please read the nomination guidelines, as well as the list of past recipients.

If you have questions, please contact David Wagschal at