Show/Hide Images

President's walk through at the 98th annual OCAD U Graduate Exhibition. Photo by Martin Iskander.


OCAD University has a bi-cameral governance system with a Board of Governors and a Senate.

President's walk through at the 98th annual OCAD U Graduate Exhibition. Photo by Martin Iskander.

OCAD University Senate

The Senate is responsible for the establishment and regulation of academic policy, standards and procedures at OCAD University. In particular, the Senate and its many committees are in charge of all matters pertaining to OCAD U’s academic resources, academic programming, academic strategic planning, student affairs and any other such matters relating to academic issues. Membership of Senate consists predominantly of senior faculty, but also includes undergraduate and graduate student representation, as well as a representation of the academic administration.

The Senate includes the Senate Academic Policy & Planning Committee; Senate Academic Standards Committee; Senate Undergraduate Studies Committee; Senate Graduate Studies Committee; Senate Student Appeals Committee; and the Senate Quality Assurance Committee. The Senate normally meets on the fourth week of every month during the academic year.

For more information on the Senate and its membership, refer to the OCAD University Senate By-Laws or contact Natalie Nanton, Secretary to Senate at, or at 416-977-6000, Ext. 2856. 

Current chair of Senate

Professor b.h. Yael 
Professor Sylvia Whitton (Interim Chair: January 1 to June 30, 2017)

Past chairs of Senate

Professor Keith J. Rushton, 2013/2014, 2014/2015

Dr. Archie Graham, 2011/2012, 2012/2013

Senate meetings

At least seven regular Senate meetings will be held between September 1 and May 31, except where the secretary, in consultation with the Senate Executive Committee, determines that circumstances warrant a change from the normal schedule. No meeting of the senate will be of more than three hours in duration, except by the affirmative vote of two thirds of those present and voting to extend for a specific period of time. All outstanding business will be deferred until the next meeting, unless a special meeting is called.

Senate meetings will take place on the last Monday of every month, from 3:15 p.m. to 6:15 p.m., unless otherwise stated, during the Fall and Winter terms in room 322, 230 Richmond Street West. For more information, please contact Natalie Nanton, Secretary to Senate at

Monday, September 25, 2017

Monday, October 30, 2017

Monday, November 27, 2017

Monday, January 29, 2018

Monday, February 26, 2018 

Monday, March 26, 2018 

Monday, April 30, 2018

Wednesday, May 23, 2018 

Minutes of each meeting will be posted after approval at Senate. An agenda for upcoming meetings will be made available in advance.

 September 25, 2017



 October 30, 2017



November 27, 2017


January 29, 2018  Agenda
February 26, 2018


March 26, 2018 Agenda 
April 30, 2018 Agenda
May 23, 2018 Agenda




Dr. Sara Diamond

Dr. Gillian Siddall
Vice-President, Academic and Provost, and Vice-Chair of Senate

Dr. Salah Bachir

Dr. Robert Luke
Vice-President, Research and Innovation

Dr. Ashok Mathur
Dean, Graduate Studies

Dr. Vladimir Spicanovic
Dean, Faculty of Art

Dr. Elizabeth (Dori) Tunstall
Dean, Faculty of Design

Dr. Caroline Langill
Dean, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Sciences and School of Interdisciplinary Studies

Ms. Elisabeth Paradis
University Registrar

Ms. Jill Patrick
University Librarian

Faculty senators

Faculty-area faculty senators - Art

Prof. Colette Laliberté
Prof. Amy Swartz
Prof. Natalie Waldburger
Prof. Sylvia Whitton
Prof. b.h. Yael
Prof. James Olley
Prof. Wrik Mead

Faculty-area faculty senators - Design

Prof. Annette Blum

Dr. Gayle Nicoll
Prof. Richard Hunt
Prof. Lewis Nicholson
Prof. Ann Urban
Prof. Maya Desai
Prof. Nick Goso

Faculty-area faculty senators - Liberal Arts & Sciences and School of Interdisciplinary Studies

Dr. Heather Coffey
Dr. Charles Reeve
Dr. Marie-Josée Therrien
Dr. Maria-Belén Ordóñez
Dr. Alia Weston
Dr. Michelle Miller
Prof. Catherine Black

Faculty-at-large senators

Prof. Nicole Collins
Prof. Kate Hartman
Prof. Min Sook Lee
Prof. Eric Nay
Prof. Francis LeBouthillier
Prof. Beverly Dywan
Prof. Lillian Allen

Sessional faculty senators

Prof. Bogdan Luca
Prof. Laurelle Jno Baptiste

Program chairs - Faculty of Art

Prof. Judith Doyle
Prof. Laura Millard

Program chairs - Faculty of Design

Prof. Bruce Hinds
Prof. Roderick Grant

Program chairs - Faculty of Arts and Sciences and School of Interdisciplinary Studies

Prof. Ryan Rice
Prof. Nick Puckett

Graduate program director

Dr. Kate Sellen
Dr. Martha Ladly


Student senators

Undergraduate student senators

Robert Ridgway
Sculpture and Installation, Faculty of Art

Akash Inbakumar
Material Art & Design, Faculty of Design

Faculty of Liberal Arts and Sciences and School of Interdisciplinary Studies

Graduate student senator


Appointed senators

Dr. Claude Galipeau
External member (Board Vice-Chair), appointed by and from the Board of Governors

Prof. Bonnie Devine
Co-Chair, Aboriginal Education Council

Ms. Deanne Fisher
Vice-Provost, Students and International, appointed by virtue of office

Mr. Evan Tapper
Director, Office of Continuing Studies, appointed by virtue of office

Ms. Susan Ferguson
Director, Writing and Learning Centre, or the Director, Faculty & Curriculum Development Centre, appointed by virtue of office