Show/Hide Images

Faculty of Art

Educating artists and cultural practitioners who will shape the age of imagination and redefine the meaning of contemporary art practice.

Student work from the series "It's Not Milk" by Drawing and Painting Medal Winner Ivan Alifan, 2013.

Undergraduate programs in Art (BA, BFA)

Faculty of Art

Located at the centre of Toronto’s thriving cultural community, the Faculty of Art at OCAD University is committed to educating artists and cultural practitioners who will shape the age of imagination and redefine the meaning of contemporary art practice. The Faculty of Art joins practice to theory and studio production to interdisciplinary inquiry that merges analog and digital media and illuminates the intersections of art practice, technology and social space. We encourage our students to expand their creative intelligence through experimentation, research and materialization of their ideas in studio production and innovative forms of expression that best reflect their individual values and contemporary awareness.

The Faculty of Art is committed to the:

  • success and excellence of its students
  • contemporary relevance of its curriculum and studio pedagogy
  • quality and safety of its studio facilities
  • dialogue on aesthetics and ethics
  • materiality of art making and critical thinking
  • research and innovation
  • experiential learning and community outreach
  • integration of equity, diversity and cross-cultural values in studio pedagogy Diversity Action Plan PDF

Drawing on a reputation that spans 135 years, the Faculty of Art, and its new Academic Plan, offers six majors of study at the undergraduate level, including Criticism & Curatorial Practice, Drawing & Painting, Integrated Media, Photography, Printmaking and Sculpture/Installation. The Faculty welcomes pedagogical innovation that engages the six themes of the New Ecology of Learning: diversity, wellness, technological innovation, cross-disciplinary practice, sustainability, and contemporary ethics.

Faculty of Art Office

Suite 401, 4th floor of 100 McCaul St. 
Monday to Friday 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Clusters of programs in art

There are four administrative clusters of programs of study in the Faculty of Art. Students major in a program of study. The following list shows which programs are in each cluster.

Contemporary Painting and Print Media

  • Drawing & Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Digital Painting & Expanded Animation: DRPT (Specialization)

Natalie Waldburger, Chair
Jennie Suddick, Associate Chair
Program Assistant: Vivian So,

Media and Installation Art

  • Integrated Media
  • Sculpture/Installation
  • Digital Painting & Expanded Animation: INTM (Specialization)

Wrik Mead, Chair
Philippe Blanchard, Associate Chair
Program Assistant: David Meachen,

Cross-Disciplinary Art Practices

  • Criticism & Curatorial Practice
  • Photography
  • Publications (Specialization)

Johanna Householder, Chair
Jennifer Long, Associate Chair
Program Assistant: Olivier Valencia,

First Year and Summer Studies

JJ Lee, Director