Show/Hide Images


OCAD University has a bi-cameral governance system with a Board of Governors and a Senate.

President's walk through at the 98th annual OCAD U Graduate Exhibition. Photo by Martin Iskander.

Board of Governors

The Ontario College of Art & Design University Act, 2002, (amended 2010) states that “the Board of Governors is responsible for governing and managing the affairs of the university and has the necessary powers to do so. The Board consists of members from the external community, including 6 individuals appointed by the Ontario government, 2 elected by the OCAD U Alumni, and 9 by the Board itself. There are also 8 internal Board members drawn from the OCAD U community, elected by staff, management and student representatives as well as faculty members cross-appointed by the Senate. The President and the Chancellor are ex-officio voting internal members.

In its meetings the Board establishes policy and institutional priorities for the university. It makes major operating decisions and receives reports from the President; Vice-President, Academic; Vice-President, Development & Alumni Relations; Vice-President, Finance & Administration; Associate Vice-President, Research & Graduate Studies; Associate Vice-President, University Relations; the Senate; Chairs of standing and ad hoc committees; and representatives of academic and administrative areas at the university, as needed. Standing committees of the Board include the Executive; Audit, Finance and Risk; Human Resources; Investment; and Physical Resources and Capital Assets Committees. There is also a Senate Liaison Sub-Committee of the Executive Committee. Ad hoc committees and task forces are established from time to time as required.

OCAD University Board of Governors General By-Law No 1

General By-Law No. 1 of the Ontario College of Art & Design University, Approved by the Board of Governors, June 2016

Ontario College of Art & Design University Act

Ontario College of Art & Design University Act, 2002

The Board is committed to making its processes and decisions as transparent as possible. Meetings are open to all members of the university community.

Board Meetings

Board meeting dates for 2016-2017

Minutes of each meeting will be posted after approval by the Board of Governors.

2013/2014 Meetings

September 23, 2013 Meeting Minutes
November 16, 2013 Annual General Meeting Minutes
November 16, 2013 Special Meeting Minutes
December 9, 2013 Meeting Minutes
February 24, 2014 Meeting Minutes
May 5, 2014 Meeting Minutes
June 16, 2014 Meeting Minutes

2014/2015 Meetings

July 3, 2014 Special Meeting Minutes
October 6, 2014 Meeting Minutes
November 1, 2014 Meeting Minutes
December 15, 2014 Meeting Minutes
March 9, 2015 Meeting Minutes
April 14, 2015 Special Meeting Minutes
May 4, 2015 Meeting Minutes
June 16, 2015 Meeting Minutes

2015/2016 Meetings

October 5, 2015 Meeting Minutes
November 14, 2015 Special Meeting Minutes
December 7, 2015 Meeting Minutes
March 7, 2016 Meeting Minutes
May 2, 2016 Meeting Minutes
June 13, 2016 Meeting Minutes

Board Secretary

Communication to the Board of Governors should be addressed to Carole Beaulieu, Vice-President, Advancement & Board Secretariat.

Presidential Leadership

Board Communications

February 15, 2015: Communication from the Board Chair re: Globe and Mail article
May 15, 2015: Communication from the Board Chair re Renewal of term of Chancellor Catherine (Kiki) Delaney

Chancellor Search

Communication from the President re: Call for Nominations for the position of OCAD University Chancellor
Position Profile for Chancellor

Current membership

External Members Appointed by the Government of Ontario

Dr. John Semple
Chair, OCAD University Board of Governors
Professor, Department of Surgery, University of Toronto

David P. Holland, CPA, CA
Vice Chair, OCAD University Board of Governors
President and Chief Executive Officer, Torstar Corporation

Dr. Myrna Francis
President, Mfran Enterprises Inc.

Helen Kearns
President & CEO, Bell Kearns & Associates Ltd.

Mark Robert
Co-Founder of The Carlu

Daniel Sawaya
Founder & CEO, AyaWas Investment Group

External Members Elected by the Board of Governors

Sharifa Khan
Vice-Chair, OCAD University Board of Governors
President and CEO, Balmoral Marketing Inc.

John Albright
Co-Founder and Managing Partner of Relay Ventures

Bob Finlay
Managing Director of and Global Head, Diversified Industries and Mining, Scotiabank

Dr. Claude Galipeau
Country Manager, Yahoo Canada

Raja Khanna
CEO, Television and Digital, Blue Ant Media 

Lanita Layton
Managing Director, HUGO BOSS Canada

Idris Mootee
Chief Executive Officer, Idea Couture

Paul Rowan
Co-Founder and Vice-President, Inspiration, Umbra

Jaime Watt
Executive Chairman, Navigator Ltd.

Carol Weinbaum
Executive Vice-President, Operations, WJ Properties

External Members Elected by the OCADU Alumni Association

Maggie Broda, AOCA, BFA
President, OCAD U Alumni Association

Tracy Gordon, AOCA, Industrial Design, PMP
Project Manager, Teague

Internal Members

Dr. Sara Diamond
President, OCAD University

Catherine (Kiki) A. Delaney, CM LLD, CFA, DHumL
Chancellor, OCAD University

Members elected by Faculty & appointed by the Senate

b.h. Yael
Senate Chair and Professor, Faculty of Art, Integrated Media Program

Nicole Collins
Assistant Professor, Faculty of Art, Drawing & Painting Program

Dr. Charles Reeve
Associate Professor, Faculties of Liberal Arts & Sciences/School of Interdisciplinary Studies and Art

Members elected by Managers and Staff

Andre De Freitas
Manager, Financial Aids & Awards

Alvaro Araya
Enterprise Systems and Storage Architect
President, OPSEU Local 576

Member elected by Graduate Students

Ryan Murphy
Graduate student in Strategic Foresight & Innovation for Master of Design

Members elected by Undergraduate Students

Eric Hanson
Third Year Student in Advertising Program for Bachelor of Design

1 vacancy until next year’s student elections per s.6.4(f) of OCAD U General By-Law No. 1